Description: This is a special course combining closely the electrical machine theory with advanced control technologies for different types of electrical machines. The understanding of an electrical machine for many engineers is still a simple mathematical model represented in e.g. a dq-reference frame. This course uses several step-by-step Finite Element models to visualize the working principle and evaluate the performance of different types of electrical machines. The link between the electromagnetic behaviour inside a machine to the well-known mathematical model is then made straight forward. This will provide a firm understating of the electrical machine, and get the participants prepared for more advanced topics and applications of electrical machines.
Based on the good understanding of an electrical machine, advanced control (mainly sensorless control) technologies will be presented and analysed. The complicated nonlinear behaviour of the machine caused by saturation will be well evaluated and treated properly. Dedicated lab facilities using dSPACE systems will be provided for the participants to implement, test, and analyze various sensorless control technologies. The emphasis on the practical lab exercise of this course will guarantee that the participants will gain solid experience about electrical drives that will benefit their own work. The permanent magnet machine and synchronous reluctance machine will be the main types of machines to be discussed in this course.
It is required that the participants have basic knowledge about electromagnetic theory, dynamic modelling of electrical machines as well as classical control theory.
Electrical machine and machine control will share equally the 5 ECTS for this course.

Organizer: Associate Professor Kaiyuan Lu, – Aalborg University

Lecturers: Associate Professor Kaiyuan Lu, and Associate Professor Peter O. Rasmussen, – Aalborg University


Time: 3 – 7 November, 2014

Place: Aalborg University, Pontoppidanstræde 101

Zip code: 9220

City: Aalborg

Number of seats: 20

Deadline: 13 October, 2014